Carly

Teressa Morgan or Mrs Morgan Adventures with ICTs recently posted on EDC3100 ICT and Pedagogy Facebook group about how ICT has helped this young girl to communicate with her family for the first time in years. The girl is Carly. She was diagnosed with severe Autism and mild mental retardation. She has never spoken a word to anyone until now, the age of 14 where she was placed in front of a laptop. She started typing words. ICT has helped Carly and his dad to communicate like a normal person. After few moths of therapy, she had improved so much that she can have online chat with her dad.

In the video, her dad was interviewed and I personally think he was an inspirational parent in sense of having faith in his child.  Here are the highlights of the interview.

Carly’s dad said “When you look into Carly’s eye and you see an innate intelligence…so we never gave up…we never gave up”.

At one point of time, he was asked whether to put Carly in a mental institution and he replied “I couldn’t…I will never do it”.

I hope the rest will watch the video and love it as I did!

About Meng Jo

Hi, welcome to my gardening blog. I am Jo (pronounce as Joe). I live in Kuala Lumpur, the capital of Malaysia. I started with my first plant, sunflower when I was 10, had it flowered and replanted the seeds produced. My passion for gardening continues ever since. My interests in a plant doesn't usually stops at flowering stage. I like to discover ways to propagate the plant and distribute the seedlings to my friends and relatives. I like to experiment with mixing soils for growing individual plant. I think I got this gardening "thing" from my mom since she is the only member of my family who will be willing to spend more than 5 minutes in the garden. I wanted to document my experience of gardening in this blog and share with the rest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Carly

  1. Pingback: courtney's blog » Blog Archive » Carly

  2. Pingback: Little thought on ICT in Early Child Education » Blog Archive » ICT and Children with special needs

Leave a comment