Instagram Junkie

I had known many people who would constantly keep their phone at eye level. I happened to be one of them (stop that judging eye). I took far too many pictures of meals, coffees, my dogs and plants but (thank god) I have not run into a car or a wall while taking a photo.  The truth is, I am an Instagram junkie.

picture by Chelsey Kilzer

picture by Chelsey Kilzer

Now comes the bitter truth – The danger of the internet is that it’s very very easy to tell partial truths—to show the fabulous meal but not the means of paying up afterward. To display the smiling cute profile-shot but not the lengthy time of getting ready and to brace Malaysian’s impossible weather.

I’m not anti-technology or anti-Internet. For many of us, especially educator, walking away from the Internet isn’t an option. Certainly, but I do think it’s important for us to remind ourselves from time to time that watching other peoples’ post-worthy moments on Facebook, Instagram or Pinterest is always going to yield a prettier version of life than the one you’re living right now. For example, I think my life looks better on the Internet than it does in real life. Everyone’s life looks better on the internet than it does in real life. The Internet is partial truths—we get to decide what people see and what they don’t.

Having said that, I do find benefit of viewing (and keeping) these pictures. In time of finding reference for certain styles, project or inspiration, Instagram, Pinterest or Facebook comes seconds away from the keyboard!

P.S. What will you teach children about these applications/websites?

About Meng Jo

Hi, welcome to my gardening blog. I am Jo (pronounce as Joe). I live in Kuala Lumpur, the capital of Malaysia. I started with my first plant, sunflower when I was 10, had it flowered and replanted the seeds produced. My passion for gardening continues ever since. My interests in a plant doesn't usually stops at flowering stage. I like to discover ways to propagate the plant and distribute the seedlings to my friends and relatives. I like to experiment with mixing soils for growing individual plant. I think I got this gardening "thing" from my mom since she is the only member of my family who will be willing to spend more than 5 minutes in the garden. I wanted to document my experience of gardening in this blog and share with the rest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment